What is The Running Story?

Am I a fraud, a poseur, a charlatan for daring to write a blog about running? When the year 2010 began, I wasn’t running at all. In fact, I wasn’t doing much of anything in the way of exercise unless you count 16 (and sometimes 22) ounce curls at the bar.  I was over 40, overweight, under-motivated and sinking into a deep depression. I had started smoking again. In general I was in pretty bad shape and headed straight toward getting even worse.

Sometime in the spring a spark I thought had been extinguished reignited within my soul. Suddenly I began running again. I don’t know why it happened. I can’t explain it.

I guess that was a lie.

I didn’t start running, not right at first. I decided it might be nice to take a stroll around the park in the spring morning, and so I did. It was nice. I did it again. Then all of a sudden I decided to take off running.

The first day was complete hell.

I think I may have made it about a quarter of a mile before I decided it was time for a walk break. But I kept going. On September 25, 2010 I kept going for 9 hours through insane Appalachian terrain to complete my first 50k.

Less than nine months from zero to hero.

Yeah, that’s right, I just called myself a hero. After that transformation, I think I deserve to be my own hero. I  can’t run the fastest or the farthest, but I defeated my own demons and that makes me my own knight in shining armor. I think I deserve to give myself a big pat on the back. But I am not alone.

Plenty of people have gone through the same transformation. Every single one of them deserves to be called a hero. They are my heroes even more so than the top elite ultramarathon runners like Scott Jurek and Anton Krupicka. I hope that through this blog I might meet and write about some of those heroes that you won’t read about in the magazines and ultrarunning blogs. But I want to do more than that.

Every run has a story. I write in my head when I run. I’ve always done that. It is an irresistible impulse. Trail running is often a solo adventure, even during a race. The essay forming in my head keeps me company. That is a good thing, because if ever I do a 100 miler I will be alone with my thoughts and my pain and my footsteps for 24 hours.

This blog will be a running story of the adventures and calamities of my after-40 running career and of other zero-to-hero runners that befriend me along the way. I hope that somebody somewhere will read this and realize that being your own hero only requires a stubborn refusal to give up.

Yes, you can do it too. Just keep going.

About writergonewild.wordpress.com

C.S. Trimmier was born in Birmingham, Alabama and grew up playing in the woods on the banks of the Cahaba River. After earning a degree in political science, he studied law and worked with his father's firm until he left to serve as general counsel for a defense contractor in the Washington, DC area. When he isn't working or writing, he can still be found running through the woods training for his next ultramarathon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What is The Running Story?

  1. Mony Tavakoli says:

    Good for you, Chip! I can imagine hearing your voice while reading your blog (I wonder how much it’s changed after all these years, and all those beers).

  2. Man you should post some before and after pictures on the blog too. whats you diet like? still writing songs?

    • Hey Noveen! My diet is “whatever the heck I feel like eating” but my body has begun to reject things that aren’t so healthy, like greasy burgers and fries. Honestly. It is not pretty after I eat them. Yep, I’m still songwriting, but life has gotten so crazy that I have put the studio time on indefinite hold and Eric says he is OK with that. He seems to be getting a steady stream of people in the studio and has been producing some great sounding stuff. You should see the ProTools rig and the acoustic treatment he is working with now. Nice.

Leave a Reply

