OK, so I’ve been busy…

It is hard for me to keep running while I am busy. The truth is that I am never going to find the time to run. I have to make the time to run. I know that I can. Sometimes I just don’t manage to do it enough.

Usually it doesn’t work out for me unless I get up early enough to squeeze in a run before the work day begins. On the other hand, sometimes I can work it in during lunchtime. The real problem with me is motivation.

Unless I am on a training schedule for a particular event, I tend to let the running slide for seemingly more important things like clipping my toenails or watching a movie. I have to remember that I run because I really like running and how it makes me feel free and alive. Obviously, it is hard to keep that memory fresh unless I have done it recently.

The longer I postpone my next run the harder it is for me to do. It isn’t because it is physically more difficult. Sometimes it is easier. I just don’t remember how much I love to run and how much joy it brings me.

To keep it up, I need to remember the joy especially when joy seems so impossible to find. Every time I run I stay in the moment. When I am running nothing else matters but my flight across the terrain and where to place the next footstep. I need to do it. I just need to keep going.

About writergonewild.wordpress.com

C.S. Trimmier was born in Birmingham, Alabama and grew up playing in the woods on the banks of the Cahaba River. After earning a degree in political science, he studied law and worked with his father's firm until he left to serve as general counsel for a defense contractor in the Washington, DC area. When he isn't working or writing, he can still be found running through the woods training for his next ultramarathon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

