Baby, It’s Cold Outside

My throat hurts worse than my legs. Heck, I’m an Alabama boy. Where I grew up weather below 30 degrees is considered incompatible with human survival and a few inches of snow is considered a blizzard. Now that I live in the mid-Atlantic I have to cope with bitter and evil cold temperatures if I want to run on actual outdoor trails. This is a tough thing for me.

Besides the getting over the I’m-not-supposed-to-go-out-in-the-cold thing, there is the what-to-wear thing. I seem to either over dress or under dress. It is tough to make more clothing magically appear when I am several miles out from the car. Even if I wear too much I have to cope with carrying around extra gear that I don’t have stowage for after I strip off. I guess I should start running with a backpack. Yee-haw.

More than that, there is the throat thing. The first time I ran in cold weather this season I could barely talk for a week afterward. First I had a deep and strong voice like a middle linebacker or a buttkicking mercenary and I thought that was kinda cool. Unfortunately that gave way to an I-sound-like-I-am-sick-and-I-can-barely-talk voice that lasted for a week. I could have lived with that except for the fact that essentially I talk for a living. Yet another sacrifice I make for my sport I suppose.

Of course I could run indoors. I actually have a treadmill at home. I don’t even mind using it. I like it better than running on pavement. The thing is, I would rather be out on trail even if I can’t talk so well afterwards.

About writergonewild.wordpress.com

C.S. Trimmier was born in Birmingham, Alabama and grew up playing in the woods on the banks of the Cahaba River. After earning a degree in political science, he studied law and worked with his father's firm until he left to serve as general counsel for a defense contractor in the Washington, DC area. When he isn't working or writing, he can still be found running through the woods training for his next ultramarathon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

