Slippery Slope

The treadmill was developed as a torture device. I’m not kidding. Maybe I’m a glutton for punishment, but I don’t mind it.

Don’t get me wrong, I would still rather be out running through the woods. The problem is that the winter gifts the trails with a beautiful blanket of white and the sparkle of ice crystals. The scenery makes trail running a little dicey.

I am lucky enough to have a treadmill and a spinning cycle in my basement. I am smart enough to have put an old television down there too. These days I’m cranking out the miles while I watch a movie. Or two.

Indoor endurance isn’t nearly as fun as the outdoor wilderness experience, but it sure beats breaking a leg or an arm or worse. I want to give myself the best shot at staying fit and injury-free for the Hat Run 50k in March. Sometimes I need to stay away from the trails, as beautiful as they are. Even when the weather drives me indoors, I’ve got to keep going.

About writergonewild.wordpress.com

C.S. Trimmier was born in Birmingham, Alabama and grew up playing in the woods on the banks of the Cahaba River. After earning a degree in political science, he studied law and worked with his father's firm until he left to serve as general counsel for a defense contractor in the Washington, DC area. When he isn't working or writing, he can still be found running through the woods training for his next ultramarathon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment