Beginning the Running Story Again

I have fallen off of the wagon with my running habit. By that I don’t mean that I have gone on a running binge where I have put in long miles almost every day. Quite the opposite. I have only been out running a few times since The Big Schloss 50k. This might not be a bad thing.

I probably needed a little recovery time. It took me nine hours to finish the sadistic Big Schloss course. I had never spent that much time running. I was in serious pain by the time I got to the finish. It shocked me that I had as much energy remaining as I did. I stayed at the party for a good while before getting back to camp. Back in the reality of my body, I had seriously abused myself.

The buddy that talked me into doing the race (OK, he didn’t really have to twist my arm) took a break too, so I don’t feel too bad about it. However, I feel like it is time to begin running again. I have committed to doing another (less grueling) 50k in the spring. Since I have trouble keeping my mileage up unless I am on a training schedule I suppose it is time to make one for myself again.

Most of my recent running (or lack of running) problem comes from my travel schedule. It is tough to keep getting in the miles when I am on the road. I hate running on pavement and it hates me right back. It is tough for me to find dirt trails to run unless I am somewhere like Portland. Usually I am somewhere like Shreveport or New Orleans or Orlando.

I began battling extensor tendonitis in my left foot just a week or two before the race. I attribute this to my switching from my Brooks Cascadia to my New Balance MT100s while doing a speaking tour of Louisiana. The MT100s are so small and light and easy to pack that it is hard not to make them my travel shoes. Unfortunately I didn’t run on trails with them, and I think my feet took a good beating. I will try not to repeat that mistake. I still feel a little twinge.  

So now, here I am, more than a month after The Big Schloss and I have been running only a few times. My fiancé (who very, very seldom runs) took me out running one of those times. I need to begin my running story again before it comes to an end once more. I know I can do it. I just need to keep going.

About writergonewild.wordpress.com

C.S. Trimmier was born in Birmingham, Alabama and grew up playing in the woods on the banks of the Cahaba River. After earning a degree in political science, he studied law and worked with his father's firm until he left to serve as general counsel for a defense contractor in the Washington, DC area. When he isn't working or writing, he can still be found running through the woods training for his next ultramarathon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment